Delhi Golf Society pupils make gains in 8th NCR Cup

8th NCR Cup - TheGolfingHub
Action from Day 2 of the Delhi Golf Society's NCR Cup - 8th Junior Tournament at AEPTA on Wednesday. Photo Credit: Virendra Singh Gosain.

Delhi Golf Society’s (DGS) camp of excellence students made progress on Day 2 of the DGS’ NCR Cup – 8th Junior Tournament at the par-72 AEPTA, Dhaula Kuan.

Overnight tied third, Sukhman Singh moved into sole second in ‘A’ Boys with an improved card of 2-over 74. With a cumulative score of 150 (76, 74), Sukhman lies six shots off overnight leader Shat Mishra 144 (75, 69) with Wednesday’s only under-par card.

Related: Sagar Mehto, Riya Jadon among early leaders at 8th NCR Cup

Sagar Mehto, the other overnight leader, had a bad day at work and slipped to third after shooting a 82 after an opening 75.

In ‘B’ Boys, Kanav Chauhan maintained his top spot at 150 (76, 74) but has Ranveer Mitroo 154 (79, 75) and Udai Aditya Middha 161 (83, 78) in the chasing pack. Both Ranveer and Udai are part of the DGS programme, which is supported by the Container Corporation of India.

Arin Ahuja 158 (80, 78) is the new leader in the Amateur Category after overnight leader Deepak Yadav withdrew. Arin is followed by Rohan Galhotra 165 (83, 82) and Chandan Kumar Yadav 166 (83, 83).

At 164 (83, 81), Riya Jadon maintained her supremacy in ‘A’ and ‘B’ Girls with a four-shot lead over Alysha Dutt 168 (86, 82). Aditi Bhardwaj lies third at 175 (86, 89).

Wednesday saw Categories ‘C’, ‘D’ and ‘E’ join the action.

Mudit Aggarwal (82), Anas Khan (85) and Aditya Bhardwaj (88) make up the top three in ‘C’ Boys. Among girls in the category, Smira Bhambri (87), Rehnoor Malik (88) and Avni Atreya (106) were in the top three.

‘D’ Boys saw Krishnav Gupta take the early lead with an 88. He is followed by Shan Alvi (91) and Aryaveer Sirohi (92). Dalisha Chetry (80), Annika Chendira (95) and Abner Sengar (99) rank among girls in this age group.

The tiny tots were as involved as the others, and Avviraj Kalia took the lead with a 42 over nine holes. Kabir Kanwar (58) and Rehana Malik (47) are others in the fray.