Shah Rukh Khan acquires yet another professional cricket league franchisee

Shah Rukh Khan has become co-owner of teams in three different professional cricket teams
Shah Rukh Khan has become co-owner of teams in three different professional cricket teams.

Shah Rukh Khan, co-owner of Indian Premier League and Caribbean Premier League team franchisees, has jointly acquired the ownership of yet another professional cricket team ownership. The Hindi film super star has successfully won the bid to own an Emirates T20 team along with the Manchester United and Mumbai Indians owners.

The Glazer family, who had made an unsuccessful bid to own an IPL team during the bid process last month, have eventually assured their entry in professional cricket with the Indian film actor, national daily Times of India has reported.

Khan enjoys a massive fan-following in the UAE. His association is being seen as a big boost The T20 league.

“And for Shahrukh, Dubai has always been a second home to him. Brand SRK has been synonymous with this part of the world and it naturally augurs well to have him and his franchise participating in our league,” the daily has quoted people associated with the league.

Financial services company Capri Global, Kiran Kumar Grandhi of IPL franchise Delhi Capitals (DC) and Big Bash League (BBL) club Sydney Sixers have also became part of the league.

“January is a great time to play cricket in the UAE. The destination caters to multiple time zones, especially in the west. It suits prime-time in the Indian sub-continent very well, as we’ve seen during the last two IPLs and the recent T20 World Cup that were played there,” industry executives, tracking developments of the development, were quoted as saying.

According to reports, defending IPL champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were also in the fray to acquire a team. They backed down at the last moment.

Earlier in August, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) had announced the launch of PLT20, a six-team franchise-style league, will be played in January and February 2022.

The T20 league was sanctioned by Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and Chairman of ECB.

As part of the announcement, the tournament logo was also unveiled which is an ode to its home city – Dubai.

The hallmark of the new league is that it will have highest number of international players in a squad. This unique aspect of the league will attract some of the biggest names in world cricket while also giving a platform and international exposure to upcoming players.

The logo fosters and exudes a patriotic fervour with the UAE’s national symbol – the majestic Falcon draped in UAE’s flag colours, which then symbolically intertwines with the unmistakable Cricket image – the powerful hit of a batsman.

All the elements of the PLT20 logo are then encased by a shield; symbolizing pride, honour and strength which combine to create an unbreakable, uniting force of the United Arab Emirates – values which will underpin every aspect of the PLT20.

The league is duly approved by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Any Indian connect with India comes as a shot in the arm to strengthen  cricket properties’ financial muscle.